Governor Cooper Issues Statewide “Stay at Home” Order

Governor Roy Cooper issued a new Executive Order 121, today, Friday, March 27, 2020, that will implement a statewide “stay at home” order, that will be effective Monday, March 30, 2020, at 5:00 pm, and shall remain in effect for thirty (30) days from that date or unless repealed, replaced, or rescinded by another applicable Executive Order.

The Order directs individuals in the State to stay at home except for permitted purposes outlined in the Order. In general, all persons may leave their homes or place of residence only for Essential Activities (listed in Section 1. Paragraph 3. of the Order), Essential Governmental Operations (defined in Section 2. Paragraph 6. of the Order), or to maintain, or to participate in or access COVID-19 Essential Businesses and Operations (defined in Section 2. of the Order and discussed below).

The Order directs that all businesses and operations in the State, except for COVID-19 Essential Businesses and Operations, are required to cease all activities within the State except for Minimum Basic Operations (defined below).

Included in the list of COVID-19 Essential Businesses and Operations, that are exempt from the general non-essential business closure order is the following:

Gas stations and businesses needed for transportation. Gas stations and auto supply, sales, tire, auto-repair, roadside assistance and towing services, farm equipment, construction equipment, boat repair, and related facilities and bicycle shops and related facilities.” (emphasis added).